Ask Anything

8 Keywords to Become Familiar with in Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology

Let’s take a look at the most frequently used words in Vedic astrology, so that you understand better how your future is predicted, through this ancient science.

Janma Kundali (Birth chart)

A birth chart is a representation of the planets in the sky at the time of birth of a person. This chart is drawn up by an astrologer and looks like a diagram of 12 sections or houses. This will help you understand what is your rising sign, position of the different planets in rashis and houses at the time of your birth.

Only exact date, time and location of your birth are needed for this calculation.

Get a online kundali analysis done by our experts and learn all about your life ahead!


In Hindu Vedic astrology, Lagna or the Ascendant is the zodiac sign present in the first house of the birth chart.  It is given highest importance for revealing all about one’s personality and life events.

It is the ascendant star rising on the eastern horizon at the time of birth of any individual on the planet.


There are 12 Zodiac signs or Rashis in Vedic astrology. The Rashi is the sign in which moon was placed at your birth time. It's also called the Moonsign. The Moonsign is one of the most important points in Vedic Jyotish.


The Nakshatra of a person is the star through which Moon or Chandra is transiting at the time of birth of a person. Those born under specific nakshatras have specific qualities.

Grihas or Planets

In Indian Vedic Astrology importance has been given to 9 planets: - Sun or Surya, Moon or Chandra, Mars or Mangal, Mercury or Budh, Jupiter or Guru, venus or Shukra, Saturn or Shani, Dragon's head or Rahu & Dragon's Tail or Ketu. 

Some of the planets are considered benefic and bring very good benefits into your life, while others are considered malefic and cause many issues in your life.

Connect via telephone with our expert astrologers for personalized solutions

Kundali Milan

Kundali milan is horoscope matching for marriage. It matches two horoscopes for best compatibility using criteria or physical, emotional bonding etc The best match is noted when all the 36 Gunas of the bride and groom match. If only less than 18 aspects match between the bride and the groom, marriage cannot be successful and hence pairing such individuals is never advised as per Vedic astrology. If 18 to 24 aspects match, the marriage can be approved.


The influence of planet Mars in the horoscope of a person may indicate Manglik dosh. If Mangal (Mars) is placed in 12th, 1st, 4th, 7th or 8th house of the birth chart of a person then the birth chart is said to contain Manglik Dosha or the person is called manglik.

Dasha – Antardasha

Want to know when is your good time about to start or when will this bad period end?

Mahadasha-Antardasha of grihas plays a more vital role in determining about a person's time phase (good or bad regarding a particular issue of life) at a given time. Your horoscope reading will give you complete details of this.

The expert team at Akashvaani can help in sharing with you accurate astrological predictions around marriage, career, money, health, and suggest suitable steps you can take based on the readings. Connect with us today!